Old Barn Hollow Farm Market & Gluten Free Bakery

The Old Barn Hollow Farm Market & Gluten Free Bakery is brimming with local produce and baked goods year-round.

Old Barn Hollow, which sits on Binghamton’s State Street, is Binghamton’s only “locavore” store.  Everything they sell is from a local farm or is made by local artisans, meaning nothing is mass produced or imported.

When I visited Old Barn Hollow I was pleasantly surprised to see that though it was winter, there were still tons of options.  They have a lot of jams, sauces, and spreads that can be preserved year round, but they also have lots of frozen and refrigerated farm goods.  With coolers of artisan ravioli and freezers packed with meat and cheese, there was no shortage of local goods.  

I got LeRaysville cajun cheese curds and a slice of gluten free lemon loaf, while my friend Brian got a Red Jacket Orchards lemonade and a gluten free peanut butter cookie. Because I like to eat everything, I tried all four things, and I will definitely be going back over the summer.  

The woman who was ringing me up let me know that this is the least produce they ever have, since I went in March, so I plan on returning when they have the full farmers market running in the front of the store.  

Old Barn Hollow Farm Market & Gluten Free Bakery is at 214 State Street and is open Tuesday to Thursday from 12:00p – 6:00p, Friday from 10:00a – 6:00p, and Saturday from 10:00a – 4:00p.  More information can be found at http://www.oldbarnhollow.com/home.html

Leave a Reply

